15
Jul
10

Some published work of late and varia

Hello there! I want to share some exciting news with you about some new published work and updates for the blog.

Foreign Policy Magazine recently published my photo essay entitled “Bulldozed in Shanghai“.

Similar to Boston Globe’s Big Picture and New York Times’ Lens, FoPo’s photo essay covers a wide selection of photo documentaries on politics, the impact of war and conflict, the environment and the list goes on.

*Update: The FP photo essay has been republished over at Netease 网易, a Chinese-language news portal, which has generated over 250 comments ranging from criticism/support for China’s urban development policies to whether I fabricated,through Photoshop, the photo of Old vs New urban landscape.

– Koi Koi Koi featured a collection of my photography work.

The site is an awesome e-magazine covering visual arts, illustration and graphic design, animation, advertising, web design and photography. The write-up was done by Alex aka Jellyfish who also writes for NeochaEDGE in China, and we’ve exchanged many views on photography in China with great gusto.

You can view more of my published work here or amuse yourself over my interview with BBC Vietnam here.

Next week, we will have another Behind the Camera interview with a talented Shanghainese street photographer. So watch this space!

As always, I want to thank you for visiting. With so many great blogs/sites out there, I appreciate you taking the time to stop by.

5 Responses to “Some published work of late and varia”


  1. July 16, 2010 at 12:14 am

    I found your blog via Koikoikoi just last night, and I stayed up late to read the whole archive. As soon as I think of the right words for how amazing your work is, I’ll let you know!

  2. July 19, 2010 at 2:40 pm

    Thanks v much, both. Most humbled by your kind words.

  3. 4 Keith
    July 21, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    Hi Sue Anne, may I add my congratulations on your publications; and it was nice to see the video of your interview with the BBC and put a face to the person who writes to me. Seeing your work in its various published forms only reinforces the power of the pictorial essay. When I first took an interest in photography, many years ago, magazines like LIFE and Paris Match were at the peak of their popularity and the pictorial essay was in its prime. It is reassuring to see that, through photographers like yourself, the art form is alive and well. Hats off to you!!

    • July 22, 2010 at 11:08 am

      Many thanks, Keith! The large photo format is such a pleasure to browse, especially when no Flash is involved. It brings another dimension to journalism and allows me to travel more visually (albiet virtually) via them.

      Also, I’m sure I will be holding a copy of your book of short stories very soon. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

All rights reserved

Please do not use content from this website without the author's permission.

Archives

Twitter Updates

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

